Will polish rider finally reach for gold in Tauron SEC?

Share on:

All this year's final rounds of the Tauron Speedway Euro Championship will take place in Poland. So far, none of the riders competing in white and red colors, managed to achieve triumph in the final battle of the series. Will the fact that the finals will be hosted only in their country be a suitable motivation?

The last Individual European Champion, representing Poland is Sebastian Ułamek. He achieved the victory in a one-day final, on 25th of September 2010 at the Tarnów track, when he was perfect and scored a maximum of points. Almost 10 years have passed since then, so this year's battle can be an ideal opportunity to overcome the bad luck by Polish riders. In next seasons no one managed to win the gold medal of the Individual European Championships. In the next two years, Tomasz Gapiński and Robert Miśkowiak had to settle for silver medals and Miśkowiak did so in the first year in which the best rider in Europe was selected after four tournaments.

A year later, this series turned into the Speedway Euro Championship and it can be safely said that since then Poles have not done well in this competition. This is evidenced by only two medals won by riders from Poland over the past seven years. Undoubtedly, the closest to the final triumph in the Tauron SEC series was Krzysztof Kasprzak in 2016, when he has lost with the final winner Nicki Pedersen by only two points. What's more, he did not even win the silver medal, because in the additional race on the track in Rybnik he lost to Czech rider, Václav Milík. The second place in the Individual European Championships was taken by Jarosław Hampel in the 2018 season. At that time, despite the fact that before the last final round in Chorzów he had a chance for the final triumph, he lost with Leon Madsen, who at the Silesian Stadium was perfect and finally overtook the Polish representative in the final table by 9 points. Kacper Woryna was really close to the final podium a year ago. However, he was unlucky and in the additional heat, when after an engine failure, he was defeated by Leon Madsen, who won the brown medal.

So what is the situation before this year's Tauron SEC series when it comes to Polish riders? Surely Kacper Woryna would like to rehabilitate himself for last year's failure and jump on the podium. Does he have a chance for the final triumph? Certainly, because last year the difference between the fourth place he took and Mikkel Michelsen who won was only 6 points. It's just two heats, and this year's cycle of Individual European Championships consists of one more round than before. Another advantage of Woryna is the fact that the fourth final round will take place at his home venue in Rybnik and he has been defending the colors of the local ROW team from the beginning of his career.

Bartosz Smektała, U-21 Individual World Champion from 2018 will certainly want to highlight his presence. The youngest rider at the list of regular participants made his debut in the Tauron SEC series a year ago. He can be pleased with his performances, because in the first year of starts in the series he managed to take the place in the top five, which gave him a promotion to this year's competition. Last year he only missed three points to the podium place and if he can improve, he can also mix a lot. He has proven many times that he should not be ruled out in the fight against older and more experienced riders.

The last of the Polish representatives who will appear in this year's Tauron Speedway Euro Championship series is Krzysztof Kasprzak. For this rider it will be a return to the fight for the Individual European Championship after a one year break. After the above mentioned 2016 season, in which he was third, a year later he had ridden a little worse, finally landing the one position lower in the final classification. He wanted to quickly forget about performances in the 2018 season in the Tauron SEC series, because he took 11th place and in each of the four final rounds he finished just in the regular series of the meetings. The end of last season was already good in his performance and he managed to win in the Golden Helmet final on the track in Gdansk. Due to the situation caused by the coronavirus and lack of elimination, he was nominated for this year's Tauron SEC series. He certainly has a chance for the final victory and the additional motivation should be the fact that the Individual European Champion of the 2020 season will have a guaranteed place in next year's Speedway Grand Prix. Kasprzak has repeatedly said that his task is to return to the group of best riders in the world. Will he achieve this by performing at Tauron SEC in 2020? We will soon find out.

Polish fans have been waiting for the Individual European Champion for almost 10 years. On the occasion of the finals, hosted only in this one country, certainly the triumph of one of the riders would be even better. But the others won’t give up so easy and it will be hard to achieve final success. We can be sure of one thing – fans in Poland certainly would like to hear Polish national anthem on the 29th of July 2020 at Torun’s Motoarena, at the final decoration.

SEC News
2013-2020 SEC Summary: Czech Republic

If we look at the performances of the Czech representatives in the Speedway Euro Championship in 2013-2020, the name of Václav Milík comes to the fore. This rider defended the colors of his country six times, fighting for the title of the best in Europe and he has been doing it continuously since 2015. He achieved the best results in the second half of the decade, when he finished with winning two medals – silver and bronze. In six seasons Poland's southern neighbours had one representative in the SEC cycle, in 2018 it was two riders and in 2014 there was no Czech among the regular participants.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Sweden

 During eight years of struggling as part of the Speedway Euro Championship, it means since the competition for the title of the best rider in Europe has been organized by One Sport, representatives of the Sweden team haven’t achieved any spectacular success. Riders from this country have gained only one bronze medal and this situation took place in the 2015 season.

The dates and locations of next year's European Speedway Championships are revealed

The Individual European Champion 2021 competition will run from 1st May until 10th July. The European Motorcycle Federation (FIM Europe) has published a makeshift calendar for the next season.

Closer look at TAURON SEC 2020

The TAURON SEC season in the year 2020 was more than unique. The series provided us with many emotions and a few special events, which are worth to mention after all. Speedway enthusiasts probably took notice of many details that we have not experienced in previous years or might come to conclusion, that in some cases history likes to repeat itself. Let's take a closer look at this year’s Individual European Championship competition.

Michelsen: I wasn't meant to win

Mikkel Michelsen took fourth place in this year's TAURON Speedway Euro Championship series. Before the start of the competition, The Dane announced the fight to defend his title he won a year ago, but less successful tournaments in Rybnik, Gniezno and Toruń crossed out his chances for final victory.

Madsen: Robert did a great job

Leon Madsen got the silver medal of the Individual European Championships. The Dane won three rounds of this year's cycle, but it was not enough to reclaim the title.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy