The youngest Pole was the best in the 1st Round of TAURON SEC

Share on:

 On Saturday, 4th of July, the TAURON SEC 2020 series was inaugurated at Torun’s Motoarena. The audience gathered in this beautiful venue was counting on a good performance by Polish representatives. This time, none of the Poles stood on the podium, but certainly we can’t talk about the fail when it comes to the performances of riders in white and red colors.

 The youngest of Poles – Bartosz Smektała, was the best of them. The under 22-year-old rider took place in the grand finale, in which he ultimately lost with Leon Madsen, Robert Lambert and Nicki Pedersen. However, it's hard to complain about such a performance. In the main series, the popular "Smyk" lost only 4 points – two with the later finalists, Madsen and Lambert and in the 13th heat – which can be considered as a small surprise – with Finn Timo Lahti and the Russian Andrey Kudryashov. The high place allowed him to start in the race-off for the final, which he won. In a last battle he lost with all rivals, finally finishing the competition on 4th place. After the 1st Final Round of TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2020 he takes a high place, losing only 3 points to the leading Lambert and Pedersen, which can be reduced quite quickly.

Bartosz Zmarzlik achieved the second result among Poles for the inauguration of the series in Toruń. The Individual World Champion 2019 returned to Motoarena, where in October last year he celebrated his greatest triumph in his career, racing in Saturday's competition with a “wild card”. The 25-year-old rider for the first time appeared in the final tournament of the Individual European Championships and was very close to checking in in the final heat. Finally in the race-off he finished third, behind Smektała and Madsen and finished the competition on the high 5th place with 10 points.

Two other Polish representatives, taking part in the TAURON SEC 2020 series as regular participants, can speak about a small false start. Kacper Woryna, who was very close to achieve bronze medal last year, finished the first Final Round in Torun on 8th place with 8 points. His situation could have been quite different, if he wasn’t excluded in the 14th heat of the day. Ultimately, without these points he couldn’t take place in race-off heat. Krzysztof Kasprzak collected just one point less than Woryna, finishing the competition on 10th position. Although when we look at the points, it may not look so bad, but it can’t be a good sign, that the individual runner-up of the World Championship in 2014 didn’t manage to win a single race for the inauguration of the TAURON SEC 2020 series. For sure there is a lot of place for improvement and everyone knows that this rider can do much more. The last of the Poles, who appeared on the Motoarena track on 4th of July, was Igor Kopeć-Sobczyński. Substitute rider had the opportunity to appear in the first race, after the exclusion of Václav Milík, caused by touching the tape. Quite unexpectedly the young rider was better than David Bellego and could enjoy getting one point.

After the first Final Round of the TAURON SEC 2020 series, Bartosz Smektała has reasons to be satisfied. In the general classification he is at the one of the highest positions and certainly in the next rounds he will do everything to continue his fight for the highest goals. Also, the chances of the next regular participants in the fight for the Individual European Championship in white and red colors can’t be ruled out. However, both Kacper Woryna and Krzysztof Kasprzak have to change something to present themselves better than in first meeting in Toruń. Although this year's TAURON SEC series has 5 final rounds, there will be less space for mistakes in subsequent tournaments.

SEC News
Closer look at TAURON SEC 2020

The TAURON SEC season in the year 2020 was more than unique. The series provided us with many emotions and a few special events, which are worth to mention after all. Speedway enthusiasts probably took notice of many details that we have not experienced in previous years or might come to conclusion, that in some cases history likes to repeat itself. Let's take a closer look at this year’s Individual European Championship competition.

Michelsen: I wasn't meant to win

Mikkel Michelsen took fourth place in this year's TAURON Speedway Euro Championship series. Before the start of the competition, The Dane announced the fight to defend his title he won a year ago, but less successful tournaments in Rybnik, Gniezno and Toruń crossed out his chances for final victory.

Madsen: Robert did a great job

Leon Madsen got the silver medal of the Individual European Championships. The Dane won three rounds of this year's cycle, but it was not enough to reclaim the title.

Lambert: I knew what I had to do

Robert Lambert became the new Individual European Champion. At the end of the TAURON SEC 2020 cycle, the British won the final round in Toruń. The fight for the gold medal was decided excitingly in the very final heat in which Lambert crossed the finish line before Leon Madsen.

Lambert is the new Individual European Champion after winning in Toruń!

Motoarena in Torun hosted the last and crucial round of this year's TAURON Speedway Euro Championship. After a tight and even tournament, the victory was achieved by Robert Lambert, who additionally won the title of Individual European Champion in 2020!

Madsen: I will do my best to win

Leon Madsen surprisingly took “only” sixth place during the third round of the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2020 which took place in Gniezno. The Dane scored nine points and now is on the second place in the interim classification of the cycle with a two point loss to the leader, Robert Lambert.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Toru? Bydgoszcz ?l?skie Kujawsko - Pomorskie

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Ewinner Boll Marma


Lotto Ministerstwo Sportu i Turystyki Poczta Polska Lavor Wash Niepodleg?a MosiR

Media partners

WP Tygodnik ?u?lowy