Madsen wins in Bydgoszcz. Dane is the new leader of the cycle

Share on:

The second, extremely exciting round of the Tauron SEC 2020 series is behind us. The beautiful stadium in Bydgoszcz with its brand new tribune and fantastic racing - that's what we have seen today. Leon Madsen is the winner of today’s meeting. The Dane showed cold blood in the final heat once again.

The first series provided positive impressions. In heat number two, there was a clash of SEC titans. Nicki Pedersen scored three points and the wild card rider, Emil Saifutdinov had a phenomenal duel with Kacper Woryna. The Russian took secound place, thanks to a fantastic action on the outside line, on the last lap. But that’s still not all because, before the first break we also watched a brilliant ride on the outside line from Grigorij Laguta and a great duel between David Bellego and Bartosz Smektała. To the delight of local fans, the winner was the Frenchman, who is Abramczyk Polonia Bydgoszcz rider this year.

The beginning of the meeting was difficult for Polish riders. Smektała, Woryna and Kasprzak had problems at the start as well as at the distance, where they lost their positions. But Smektała raised up again and in the third series, where he won a race.
When it seemed that the emotions dropped a bit, we watched the brilliant racing from Emil Saifutdinov. In teh eleventh heat, the Russian drove near the "fence" and overtook the confused Grigorij Laguta. In race number 16 we watched a fantastic chase of Vaclav Milik and Grigorij Laguta after Kacper Woryna. In the end, both of them were able to overtake the Pole.

What the fans might have like was that the riders fought for every point, even when they lost their chances for the top six place. The Russians - Saifutdinov and Laguta - entered the finals. The last chance heat was dominated by the Danes - Madsen, Pedersen and Michelsen – completed by the Brit, Robert Lambert.

The last chance heat was an amazing promotion of speedway. Firstly, Nicki Pedersen came out on second position, then he was brilliantly attacked by Michelsen and Lambert. Both of them manager to overcome the three-time Individual World Champion on the last corner, but only the Individual European Championships title defender made it to the final heat. Madsen was on the lead from the start to the finish line.

In the final heat of the day, in the Danish-Russian duel ended with Madsen’s victory. Once again he had better and worse moments during the competition, but at the end he showed determination and a cool head again.

Sold out tickets, excellent racing and a great promotion of speedway. May there be only competitions like that!

1. Leon Madsen (Denmark) - 14 (2,3,3,0,3,3) 
2. Mikkel Michelsen (Denmark) - 13 (1,3,3,3,1,2) 
3. Grigorij Łaguta (Russia) - 13 (3,2,2,2,3,1)
4. Emil Sajfutdinow (Russia) - 14 (2,3,3,3,3,0) 
5. Robert Lambert (Great Britain) - 10 (3,3,2,2,0)
6. Nicki Pedersen (Denmark) - 10 (3,2,2,1,2)
7. Andriej Kudriaszow (Russia) - 8 (t,1,2,3,2)
8. Timo Lahti (Finland) - 8 (2,2,1,2,1)
9. Bartosz Smektała (Poland) - 7 (2,0,3,0,2)
10. David Bellego (France) - 6 (3,0,1,0,2)
11. Vaclav Milik (Czechia) - 6 (1,2,0,3,0)
12. Peter Ljung (Sweden) - 5 (0,0,1,1,3)
13. Michael Jepsen Jensen (Denmark) - 4 (0,1,0,2,1)
14. Kacper Woryna (Poland) - 4 (1,1,1,1,0)
15. Kai Huckenbeck (Germany) - 3 (0,1,0,1,1)
16. Krzysztof Kasprzak (Poland) - 1 (1,0,0,0,0)
17. Kamil Brzozowski (Poland) - 0 (0)
18. Matic Ivacic (Slovenia) - dns

Heat by heat:
1. Lambert, Lahti, Milik, Huckenbeck
2. Pedersen, Sajfutdinow, Woryna, Jepsen Jensen
3. Łaguta, Madsen, Michelsen, Brzozowski (Kudriaszow - t)
4. Bellego, Smektała, Kasprzak, Ljung
5. Lambert, Łaguta, Jepsen Jensen, Ljung
6. Michelsen, Lahti, Woryna, Bellego
7. Madsen, Pedersen, Huckenbeck, Smektała
8. Sajfutdinow, Milik, Kudriaszow, Kasprzak
9. Madsen, Lambert, Woryna, Kasprzak
10. Smektała, Kudriaszow, Lahti, Jepsen Jensen
11. Sajfutdinow, Łaguta, Bellego, Huckenbeck
12. Michelsen, Pedersen, Ljung, Milik
13. Kudriaszow, Lambert, Pedersen, Bellego
14. Sajfutdinow, Lahti, Ljung, Madsen
15. Michelsen, Jepsen Jensen, Huckenbeck, Kasprzak
16. Milik, Łaguta, Woryna, Smektała
17. Sajfutdinow, Smektała, Michelsen, Lambert
18. Łaguta, Pedersen, Lahti, Kasprzak
19. Ljung, Kudriaszow, Huckenbeck, Woryna
20. Madsen, Bellego, Jepsen Jensen, Milik


Last chance heat:
Madsen, Michelsen, Lambert, Pedersen

Madsen, Michelsen, Łaguta, Sajfutdinow

SEC News
Closer look at TAURON SEC 2020

The TAURON SEC season in the year 2020 was more than unique. The series provided us with many emotions and a few special events, which are worth to mention after all. Speedway enthusiasts probably took notice of many details that we have not experienced in previous years or might come to conclusion, that in some cases history likes to repeat itself. Let's take a closer look at this year’s Individual European Championship competition.

Michelsen: I wasn't meant to win

Mikkel Michelsen took fourth place in this year's TAURON Speedway Euro Championship series. Before the start of the competition, The Dane announced the fight to defend his title he won a year ago, but less successful tournaments in Rybnik, Gniezno and Toruń crossed out his chances for final victory.

Madsen: Robert did a great job

Leon Madsen got the silver medal of the Individual European Championships. The Dane won three rounds of this year's cycle, but it was not enough to reclaim the title.

Lambert: I knew what I had to do

Robert Lambert became the new Individual European Champion. At the end of the TAURON SEC 2020 cycle, the British won the final round in Toruń. The fight for the gold medal was decided excitingly in the very final heat in which Lambert crossed the finish line before Leon Madsen.

Lambert is the new Individual European Champion after winning in Toruń!

Motoarena in Torun hosted the last and crucial round of this year's TAURON Speedway Euro Championship. After a tight and even tournament, the victory was achieved by Robert Lambert, who additionally won the title of Individual European Champion in 2020!

Madsen: I will do my best to win

Leon Madsen surprisingly took “only” sixth place during the third round of the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2020 which took place in Gniezno. The Dane scored nine points and now is on the second place in the interim classification of the cycle with a two point loss to the leader, Robert Lambert.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Toru? Bydgoszcz ?l?skie Kujawsko - Pomorskie

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Ewinner Boll Marma


Lotto Ministerstwo Sportu i Turystyki Poczta Polska Lavor Wash Niepodleg?a MosiR

Media partners

WP Tygodnik ?u?lowy