Leon Madsen's Hattrick!

Share on:

Leon Madsen won the fourth final of TAURON Speedway Euro Championship which was held in Rybnik. The Dane secured his leader position in the interim classification of the series. Tomorrow, the riders competing for the Individual European Championship title will again meet in Gniezno.

Leon Madsen, Robert Lambert, Grigorij Laguta and ‘wild card’ holder Bartosz Zmarzlik were the main actors of the spectacle held in Rybnik today. It’s worth to mention, that after four series of racing, all of them got the same amount of points. What’s more, all of them met in heat 18, where they fought for entering the final heat.

Madsen got the best starting momentum, but Lambert was close behind him. On the first lap, Zmarzlik overtook Lambert, then he did the same with Madsen and finally moved on to the first place. Despite many attack attempts from his rivals, the Pole maintained his position and gained a promotion to the final.

In the first part of the meeting, the track in Rybnik turned out to be challenging even for those, who race there every day. The key to achieving a good result was to be the fastest on the first corner and then escape from the heavy track material, catapulted by riders in the front positions.

Interestingly, Peter Ljung managed really well with such track conditions, in the first part of the competition. Kacper Woryna as the local hero and the current European Champion, Mikkel Michelsen had to fight in each and every race for every single point.

- If I knew what was going on, I would react properly. Unfortunately, I don’t know that. The track is hard, but at the same time it is the same for everyone. My starts are not bad, but I lacked speed on the distance - said Mikkel Michelsen, who did not get promoted to the final heat in this round.

Robert Lambert is another one from the front runners, who didn’t get a promotion to the final heat. The Brit struggled with his bike in the ‘last chance’ heat, but he continued the race and crossed the finish line as the last. The race was won by Nicki Pedersen. Grigorij Laguta also got entered the final.

The first lap turned out crucial in the final heat of this round of TAURON Speedway Euro Championship. Leon Madsen got the best starting momentum. The Dane stopped Bartosz Zmarzlik on the inside line of the first corner and flawlessly he crossed the line as first. Grigorij Laguta took an advantage from the duel between Madsen and Zmarzlik. The Russian rider finished the race on the second place.

Due to his victory in Rybnik, Leon Madsen became the first rider in TAURON SEC’s history, who got three consecutive round wins.

- We are breaking records - Leon Madsen said with a smile after the end of the competition. - It was a great day. Since the morning I felt that it would be a good one. We are completely focused on winning the European Championship title and that is our goal.

Laguta and Bartosz Zmarzlik also stood on the rostrum.

- In the final heat, I messed up the start on my own fault, but I’m still satisfied with my result – said Bartosz Zmarzlik. I felt great on my bike, I was enjoying racing today. Trying to read, where my rivals racing line was enjoyable. We achieved the minimum plan, which was direct promotion to the final heat.

We’d like to remind all speedway fans, that the third round of TAURON SEC will already be held tomorrow in Gniezno. The meeting starts at 7 PM.

Rybnik’s results:
1. L. Madsen 16 (2,3,3,3,2,3)
2. G. Laguta 13 (2,3,3,3,0,2)
3. B. Zmarzlik 15 (3,3,2,3,3,1)
4. N. Pedersen 11 (3,1,2,2,3,0)
5. R. Lambert 12 (3,2,3,3,1)
6. D. Bellego 10 (2,1,3,2,2)
7. B. Smektala 8 (3,2,0,0,3)
8. K. Woryna 7 (1,0,2,2,2)
9. M. Michelsen 7 (1,2,1,1,2)
10. P. Ljung 6 (2,3,1,ex,0)
11. V. Milik 5 (0,1,0,1,3)
12. K. Huckenbeck 4 (0,2,1,1,0)
13. M. J. Jensen 4 (1,0,1,1,1)
14. A. Kudryashov 3 (0,0,0,2,1)
15. K. Kasprzak 3 (1,1,0,0,1)
16. T. Lahti 2 (ex,0,2,0,0)
17. S. Logachev 0 (0)

SEC News
Closer look at TAURON SEC 2020

The TAURON SEC season in the year 2020 was more than unique. The series provided us with many emotions and a few special events, which are worth to mention after all. Speedway enthusiasts probably took notice of many details that we have not experienced in previous years or might come to conclusion, that in some cases history likes to repeat itself. Let's take a closer look at this year’s Individual European Championship competition.

Michelsen: I wasn't meant to win

Mikkel Michelsen took fourth place in this year's TAURON Speedway Euro Championship series. Before the start of the competition, The Dane announced the fight to defend his title he won a year ago, but less successful tournaments in Rybnik, Gniezno and Toruń crossed out his chances for final victory.

Madsen: Robert did a great job

Leon Madsen got the silver medal of the Individual European Championships. The Dane won three rounds of this year's cycle, but it was not enough to reclaim the title.

Lambert: I knew what I had to do

Robert Lambert became the new Individual European Champion. At the end of the TAURON SEC 2020 cycle, the British won the final round in Toruń. The fight for the gold medal was decided excitingly in the very final heat in which Lambert crossed the finish line before Leon Madsen.

Lambert is the new Individual European Champion after winning in Toruń!

Motoarena in Torun hosted the last and crucial round of this year's TAURON Speedway Euro Championship. After a tight and even tournament, the victory was achieved by Robert Lambert, who additionally won the title of Individual European Champion in 2020!

Madsen: I will do my best to win

Leon Madsen surprisingly took “only” sixth place during the third round of the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2020 which took place in Gniezno. The Dane scored nine points and now is on the second place in the interim classification of the cycle with a two point loss to the leader, Robert Lambert.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Toru? Bydgoszcz ?l?skie Kujawsko - Pomorskie

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Ewinner Boll Marma


Lotto Ministerstwo Sportu i Turystyki Poczta Polska Lavor Wash Niepodleg?a MosiR

Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy