2013-2020 SEC Summary: Latvia

Share on:

A representative of Latvia appeared quite often among the regular participants in the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. This situation took place for five seasons – two riders from this country fought for the title of the best in Europe once and four times it was one rider. Despite the fact that Latvians have never been favorites in this series, one of them managed to win the Individual European Championship. Of course it was Andzejs Lebedevs, who defended his country's colors in the SEC cycle five times, winning the gold medal in the 2017 season.

In the 2013 season Kastas Puodzuks was on the list of regular participants. It might have been a surprise, but he managed to get a pass to the final rounds at the track in Žarnovica (Challenge), where he took ninth – the last place awarded with promotion, beating among others Leon Madsen, Robert Miskowiak and Grzegorz Zengota. He finished the series 18th with 10 points on his account, but it should be mentioned that he collected his achievements in practically one tournament – in his debut in Gdansk. In the second final round in Togliatti, he was excluded after a fall in the first heat, he withdrew from the competition and he didn’t appear in the subsequent tournaments in Goričan and Rzeszow. 2014 was the only year in which two Latvian representatives took part in the Speedway Euro Championship. Maksim Bogdanow was doing good, he was close to keeping the place in the cycle, finishing in 6th place with 34 points and lost four to Janusz Kolodziej, who was fifth. Andzejs Lebedevs (22 points) was placed four places below his fellow-countryman.

Unfortunately a year later Latvian fans didn’t have a representative from this country in the stake of regular participants. This changed in the 2016 season, when Andzejs Lebedevs returned to the competition in the SEC series after a year break. He finished his performances a little higher than two years earlier – in 9th place with 26 points to his name. Maksim Bogdanov raced with a “wild card” in Daugavpils, managed to reach the final heat and ended the tournament with 11 points. Thanks to this performance he took 16th place in the general classification.

The 2017 season was written with golden letters in the history of Latvian speedway. That year Andzejs Lebedevs, who became the Individual European Champion, was in high form. He won the gold medal with 52 points, ahead of the second Artem Laguta by seven and third Václav Milík by eight. The Latvian's results were equal and high all the time – he appeared in all four final heats of the SEC series that year and was on the podium every time. He was third in Torun and in the other tournaments in Güstrow, Hallstavik and Lublin he was second. Unfortunately after such a good result, achieved in 2017, similar ones didn’t come in the following years. A year later he scored only 20 points, which allowed him to take 13th place and dropped out of the SEC cycle.

After the weak 2018 season, Lebedevs wasn’t on the list of regular participants in 2019, but he was one of the permanent substitutes. He appeared in one of the final rounds, starting at the track in Vojens. In this tournament he was 8th, collecting 8 points. In the final classification of the series he took 18th place with this achievement. The pandemic 2020 season was unlucky for Latvia's best international rider. The organizers – in the absence of qualifying rounds – chose regular participants, including Lebedevs. However, he didn’t start in the final five tournaments in Poland, which was caused by an injury he suffered on the track in Grudziadz, when he defended the colors of ROW Rybnik in the league meeting.

Since 2013 the Speedway Euro Championship series has been hosted in Latvia twice. The final rounds were held at the Lokomotiv Daugavpils stadium in 2016 and 2018. The first one was won by Grigorij Laguta, ahead of Joonas Kylmaekorpi and Emil Sayfutdinov. Two years later Leon Madsen was the best, Sayfutdinov was second and Robert Lambert was third.

SEC News
Pedersen becomes permanent participant of SEC 2021

Three-time Individual World Champion and 2016 Individual European Champion, Nicki Pedersen will appear in the Speedway Euro Championship 2021 as a permanent participant. The Dane will replace Grigory Laguta.

Swedes aiming to return to TAURON SEC

 Many Scandinavians will remember 5 August 2017 as the last time SEC series visited Sweden. But for riders that were there that night in Hallstavik, home of Rospiggarna, there is just the one thing that stands out - the weather.

Gdańsk will host the third round of SEC 2021

Gdańsk will host the best speedway riders of Europe during the third round of Speedway Euro Championship 2021. The competition at the Zbigniew Podlecki Stadium will take place on July 3rd.


The Danish Motor Union has announced that it will have a national qualifying competition for the SEC and SGP prior to the domestic season starting in the country. The qualifier will take place on 14 April at Korskro Motorcentrum, the home of Esbjerg Vikings, who have experienced riders like Nils Kristian Iversen in their squad for the 2021 season.

SEC 2021 – The host cities are announced

Bydgoszcz, Güstrow, Rybnik and a still kept secret fourth city will host this year’s Speedway Euro Championship tournament. This time, 4 rounds will be completed within only 28 days.

2013-2020 SEC Summary: Denmark

Denmark is the most successful in the history of the Speedway Euro Championship series in 2013-2020. Riders from this country won nine medals and stood on the podium in almost every edition – in seven of them. Danes won three times the Individual European Championship in the SEC series, they won silver medals four times and bronze twice. Four representatives of this country competed for the title of the best rider in Europe in four seasons, there were three of them on the list of regular participants in 2014, 2015 and 2018 and in 2013 it was two names.

TAURON SEC 2020 Round 5: Toruń
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 3: Gniezno
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 4: Rybnik
TAURON SEC 2020 Round 2: Bydgoszcz
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Paulina Monika Natalia Patrycja Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster



TAURON Grohmann


Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy