Ups and downs of newcomers

Share on:

Final round of SEC 2017 is coming with some big steps. In Lublin, 5 riders will appear, for whom this year's series was their debut in a fight for European title. This group includes two Poles, Dane and Russian.

The best one among them is Mateusz Szczepaniak, who still have real chances to get to the TOP 5, which would make him secure a spot for the next year's series. Rider from Ostrów Wielkopolski, with 24 points gathered is currenly 6th overall, losing only 2 points to Krzysztof Kasprzak, who closes down the TOP 5. Szczepaniak has been making it clearly that this spot in SEC 2017 is his main goal. Younger of Szczepaniak brothers, got 9 points in his debut on Motoarena and was so close from the race-off heat. What couldn't be done in Toruń, finally happened in Güstrow. During the second round of SEC 2017, Szczepaniak was inches away from the final heat. Mistake in heat no.21 made Polish rider end the meeting on 6th position with 10 points gathered. Two very good performances made Pole appear in the TOP 5 overall. It was slightly worse in Hallstavik, however, where Szczepaniak made more mistakes, which caused he got only 5 points and was ranked in 14th poisition of the Swedish SEC round.

This year's SEC is also a debut season for Andrey Kudriashov. Even though Russian couldn't make it through the qualis, he got into it, because of many injuries of permanent participants of the series and appeared in all three rounds of the European Championship. Kudriashov had a decent opening in Toruń, where he was 11th with 7 points gathered. In Güstrow, just like in Szczepaniak's case, a better performance came. Russian rider got 9 points, which made him be ranked in 8th position of the German round. Once again, just like Szczepaniak, Kudriashov had a worse round in Hallstavik. It was his first visit on the Swedish venue and Russian got only 3 points. Before the final round in Lublin, Kudriashov is 8th overall with 7 points loss to Krzysztof Kasprzak.

Third of this year's debutants in SEC 2017 is Kacper Gomólski. "Ginger" was 12th twice - in Toruń and Güstrow. First round gave him 6 points and in Germany, he got 5. Hallstavik was the round, where he had a way better performance. Younger of Gomólski brothers was even close to the race-off heat. In 5 starts, he got 8 points and his attitude on the track, could be eye-catching for the fans. Currently, Gomólski is 9th overall with 19 points gathered.

Time for Danes. 11th position is the one occupying by Kenneth Bjerre. Before the round in Toruń, Bjerre had some ambitious goals and his performance afterwards could be an unpleasant surprise. Bjerre was 9th in the first round with 8 points gathered. Two next rounds were not so good and results he achieved were way worse. 13th position in Güstrow and the same place in Hallstavik made Danish rider losing 9 points to the TOP 5, which guarantees a spot in SEC 2018. In every talk he's having, Dane treats his performances in SEC as failures.

Last of the debutants in this year's SEC, who will start in the final round in Lublin is Mikkel Bech. Dane, just like Kudriashov started in all three rounds, because of other participants' injuries and is far in the overall classification. Bech got only 9 points in 15 heats, which made him placed in 18th position. Rider, who back in a day, was third junior of the world, hasn't won a single heat in this year's SEC, got 2nd position once, 3rd seven times and ended up as last 6 times. Dane also had one exclusion.

Tickets for the final round of SEC 2017 (16/09/2017 Lublin) are available. They can be purchased here:

Ticket prices:
Normal 55 PLN
Reduced-fare 40 PLN
Normal (with discount) 40 PLN

SEC Lublin start list:
1. Krzysztof Kasprzak #507 (Poland)
2. Mateusz Szczepaniak #58 (Poland)
3. Martin Smolinski #84 (Germany)
4. Kenneth Bjerre #91 (Denmark)
5. Andzejs Lebedevs #129 (Latvia)
6. Andrey Kudryashov #9 (Russia)
7. Vaclav Milik #13 (Czech Rep.)
8. Artem Laguta #2 (Russia)
9. Przemysław Pawlicki #59 (Poland)
10. Adrian Miedziński #20 (Poland)
11. Wild Card
12. Michael Jepsen Jensen #52 (Denmark)
13. Leon Madsen #66 (Denmark)
14. Andreas Jonsson #100 (Sweden)
15. Mikkel Bech #177 (Denmark)
16. Kacper Gomólski #44 (Poland)

SEC News
New date of SEC Final Round has been announced

 New date of the SEC Final Round has been announced. This year's fight for the Individual European Champion title will be settled in Lublin, 14th of October, 6.30 PM CET.

SEC Final postponed again

Due to weather conditions, heavy rain today and also the forecast for tomorrow, where heavy rain is also predicted, the jury of FIM Europe decided in interest of safety, to postpone the meeting in Lublin. The track will not be ready for racing at tomorrow's evening.

SEC final postponed to Monday

 According to jury’s decision, including members of FIM Europe, Saturday’s final of the Individual European Championship has been cancelled. It is scheduled to be held on Monday, 18th of September, 8 PM CET.

Practice in Lublin cancelled

 Official practice before the big final of Speedway Euro Championship is official canceled by the Jury decision. Right now in Lublin is raining and FIM Europe Jury made decision, that no risk is needed. 

More info later. 

After two series, everything can change

 4 points is not a lot. After two series of starts, Andzejs Lebedevs can no longer be Speedway Euro Championship's leader. Vaclav Milik is right behind Latvian and there are many arguments, which can lead Czech rider to the European title. One of them is a fact that in their direct clashes, it was Lebedevs watching Czech's back more often.

Who will become the new European Champion?

 It's this Saturday, 16th of September in Lublin, when the final round of Speedway Euro Championship will be held. We will meet the new European Champion at the stadium of Motor Lublin.

SEC 2017: R3 Hallstavik
SEC 2017: Round 2 Güstrow
Practice Güstrow
SEC 2017: Round 1 Toruń
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Karolina Patrycja Sinem Dagmara Valeria
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Toru? Güstrow Hallstavik Lubelskie

Official Broadcaster



Lotto Eko-Dir ForBet Boll Per?a Lumel Poczta Polska


Auto Frelik Gloss MSiT Motor Lublin Manta

Media partners

WP Tygodnik ?u?lowy ChilliTorun DD Torun Nowo?ci Radio Gra RMF Maxxx