Favorites didn’t disappoint

Share on:

 On Saturday there were first qualifying rounds to Speedway European Championships series. In Krsko and Daugavpils the riders, who were main candidates to final triumph, won. Five riders from each round have qualified for the challenge.

 In Daugavpils the best was Dane, Michael Jepsen Jensen who lost only in his last heat. He was beaten by Patryk Dudek who was third in the whole tournament. The places on the podium were known after additional heat which was won by Andzejs Lebedevs. Just after the podium was Maciej Janowski, ex - World Champion U21. Last, who qualified for the challenge, is Kjastas Puodzuks. Reserved in Hungary will be Renat Gafurow who replaced Aleksandr Loktajew at the very last moment.


1. Michael Jepsen Jensen (Denmark) - (3,3,3,3,2) 14
2. Andrzej Lebiediew (Latvia) - (3,2,3,e,3) 11+3
3. Patryk Dudek (Poland) - (2,0,3,3,3) 11+2
4. Maciej Janowski (Polska) - (3,2,2,2,2) 11+1
5. Kjastas Puodzuks (Latvia) - (0,3,2,3,3) 11+0
6. Renat Gafurow (Russia) - (2,2,3,1,2) 10
7. Josef Franc (Czech Republic) - (3,2,1,1,3) 10+2
8. Rory Schlein (Australia, British licence) - (2,1,1,3,1) 8
9. Dennis Andersson (Sweden) - (1,3,0,2,1) 7
10. Tero Aarnio (Finland) - (1,3,1,2,0) 7
11. Andriej Kudriaszow (Russia) - (2,t,2,2,1) 7
12. Max Dilger (Germany) - (1,1,2,0,1) 5
13. Eduard Krcmar (Czech Republic) - (0,1,0,1,2) 4
14. Siergiej Darkin (Russia) - (1,f,0,1,0) 2
15. Iwan Pleszakow (Latvia) - (1,1,d) 2
16. Adrian Gheorghe (Romania) - (0,0,0,d,ns) 0
17. Stanisław Mielniczuk (Ukraine) - (e,-,-,-,ns) 0
18. Wiaczesław Giruckis (Latvia) - (e) 0

Heat by heat:

1. Franc, Dudek, Darkin, Krcmar
2. Jensen, Gafurow, Dilger, Puodżuks
3. Lebiediew, Schlein, Aarnio, Mielniczuk (e)
4. Janowski, Kudriaszow, Andersson, Gheorghe
5. Aarnio, Franc, Dilger, Giruckis (e) (Kudriaszow - t)
6. Puodżuks, Janowski, Schlein, Dudek
7. Jensen, Lebiediew, Krcmar, Gheorghe
8. Andersson, Gafurow, Pleszakow, Darkin (f)
9. Lebiediew, Puodżuks, Franc, Andersson
10. Dudek, Dilger, Pleszakow, Gheorghe
11. Gafurow, Janowski, Aarnio, Krcmar
12. Jensen, Kudriaszow, Schlein, Darkin
13. Jensen, Janowski, Franc, Pleszakow (d)
14. Dudek, Kudriaszow, Gafurow, Lebiediew (e)
15. Schlein, Andersson, Krcmar, Dilger
16. Puodżuks, Aarnio, Darkin, Gheorghe (d)
17. Franc, Gafurow, Schlein, Gheorghe (ns)
18. Dudek, Jensen, Andersson, Aarnio
19. Puodżuks, Krcmar, Kudriaszow, Mielniczuk (ns)
20. Lebiediew, Janowski, Dilger, Darkin

Additional heat for the 6th place:

21. Gafurow, Franc

Additional heat for the 2nd place:

22. Lebiediew, Dudek, Janowski, Puodzuks

In the second qualifying round in Krsko, Slovenia there were also no surprise. Latvian Maksim Bogdanows who won in additional heat with Przemyslaw Pawlicki and Andriej Karpow. Fourth place for Croat, Jurica Pavlic and the last place, which gives the qualification for Debrecen, for Dane Hans Andersen. Second reserved in Challenge will be Daniel Nermark who beat in additional heat Dane Anders Thomsen.


1. Maksim Bogdanow (Latvia) - 13+3(3,1,3,3,3)
2. Przemysław Pawlicki (Poland) - 13+2(2,3,2,3,3)
3. Andriej Karpow (Ukraine) - 13+1(3,3,3,2,2)
4. Jurica Pavlic (Croatia) - 12(3,3,2,1,3)
5. Hans Andersen (Denmark) - 11 (2,3,1,3,2)
6. Daniel Nermark (Sweden) - 9+3(0,2,3,2,2)
7. Anders Thomsen (Denmark) - 9+2 (1,2,2,1,3)
8. Norbert Magosi (Hungary) - 9+d (0,2,3,3,1)
9. Matic Voldrih (Slovenia) - 8 (2,2,1,2,1)
10. Michele Paco Castagna (Italy) - 6 (1,1,0,2,2)
11. Christian Hefenbrock (Germany) - 6 (1,1,2,1,1)
12. Aleksander Conda (Slovenia) - 3 (3,-,-,-,-)
13. Daniel Gappmaier (Austria) - 3 (2,0,1,0,0)
14. Ondrej Smetana (Czech Republic) - 3 (0,0,1,1,1)
15. Mattia Carpanese (Italy) - 2 (1,1,0,0,0)
16. Henry van der Steen (The Netherlands) - 0 (0,0,0,0,0)
17. Denis Stojs (Slovenia) - 0 (0,0,0)
18. Maks Gregoric (Slovenia) - 0 (0)

Heat after heat :

1. Karpow, Andersen, Castagna, Nermark
2. Conda, Gappmaier, Carpanese, van der Steen
3. Bogdanow, Voldrih, Hefenbrock, Magosi
4. Pavlic, Pawlicki, Thomsen, Smetana
5. Pawlicki, Nermark, Bogdanow, Gappmaier
6. Pavlic, Voldrih, Castagna, van der Steen
7. Andersen, Thomsen, Hefenbrock, Stojs
8. Karpow, Magosi, Carpanese, Smetana
9. Nermark, Hefenbrock, Smetana, van der Steen
10. Magosi, Thomsen, Gappmaier, Castagna
11. Bogdanow, Pavlic, Andersen, Carpanese
12. Karpow, Pawlicki, Voldrih, Stojs
13. Magosi, Nermark, Pavlic, Stojs
14. Pawlicki, Castagna, Hefenbrock, Castagna
15. Andersen, Voldrih, Smetana, Gappmaier
16. Bogdanow, Karpow, Thomsen, van der Steen
17. Thomsen, Nermark, Voldrih, Carpanese
18. Bogdanow, Castagna, Smetana, Gregoric
19. Pawlicki, Andersen, Magosi, van der Steen
20. Pavlic, Karpow, Hefenbrock, Gappmaier

Additional heat for 6th place:

21. Nermark, Thomsen, Magosi (d/s)

Additional heat for 1st place:

22. Bogdanow, Pawlicki, Karpow


Third qualifying round is on 25th May in Żarnowica.

SEC News
Kasprzak: It was a tough year

Krzysztof Kasprzak, in TAURON Speedway Euro Championship, was 11th in general classification. - It was a tough year for me in the SEC – he said.

SEC 2019 qualifying rounds dates revealed

Qualifications to the Individual European Championship series start on April 27th. SEC Challenge will be held on May 25th at Nagyhalasz.

Michelsen: I’m satisfied

Mikkel Michelsen is one of the most talented young riders from Denmark. Rider born in 1994 is improving his results every year, and fans really like to watch his rides. It seems that it’s a good decision to follow his career, because he can be one of the riders, who made fantastic results as experienced men, without medals in junior times.

Lindbaeck: Podium was very close

Antonio Lindbaeck finished TARON Speedway Euro Championship on 5th position. From one side, he can be happy because he stayed in cycle. From the other, he may be a little bit dissapointed, because he lost a medal by only one point.

Dream debut

Dream debut. That’s how we can describe Mikkel Michelsen season in TAURON Speedway Euro Championship. Dane came to the tp of the GC as fast as he can and lost bronze by only one point. He beat riders as Antonio Lindbaeck, Emil Sajfutdinow or Peter Kildemand.

Madsen: I’m the champion

8, 14, 16, 18 – that is the score of Leon Madsen in Tauron SEC 2018. Dane, having scored maximum points, won in last round on Śląski Stadium in Chorzów and didn’t leave any hopes for rivals.

TAURON SEC 2018 Round 4: Chorzów
TAURON SEC 2018 R3: Daugavpils
TAURON SEC 2018 Round 2: Güstrow
SEC 2018, Round 1 - Gniezno
SEC Girls
GIRLS Section
Monika Patrycja Sinem Valeria Dagmara
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Gniezno Güstrow Województwo ?l?skie

Official Broadcaster

Eurosport TVP


TAURON Ministerstwo Sportu i Turystyki ForBet Food Care GTV Hoegert Trans MF Tyskie


Lotto Stadion ?l?ski Auto Frelik Gloss Manta Marma Toyota Miko?ajczak Atlantic Poczta Polska Lotos PERI Extreme Hobby Niepodleg?a Hotele Diament Valtra CAT Legendia

Media partners

WP Sportowefakty.pl Tygodnik ?u?lowy Przegl?d Sportowy Dziennik Zachodni RMF Maxxx