Buy ticket

Champion without a win

Share on:

Andzejs Lebedevs is the only Speedway Euro Championship winner who did not win a single round of the competition in the season he became champion. His high scoring and consistent form made the Latvian take home the trophy for the 2017 Individual European Champion.

Lebedevs started SEC 2017 by scoring 11 points during the inaugural round in Toruń. He finished the competition at Motoarena in third place, but was second in the interim classification of the series. The tournament was won by Jaroslaw Hampel, who started with a "wild card" and scored 17 points. Vaclav Milik scored one point more than the Latvian rider.

The second round was held in Güstrow. Lebedevs started with one point in the heat 2, but in the following races he was much faster. Three wins and two second places made him score a total of 14 points. The Latvian finished in Güstrow on the second place - just behind Artem Laguta.

The third round of SEC 2017 took place in Hallstavik. As it later turned out, it was extremely important in the context of the Individual European Championship medal distribution. Vaclav Milik won the meeting, but the best scoring rider was Andreas Jonsson, who got 14 and came close to the riders fighting for the top places. This competition was the successful one for Lebedevs. The Latvian scored 13 points, which before the last round of the SEC made his lead over rivals grow from two to four points.

Lebedevs came to Lublin as the leader with 38 points - four more than Milik and six more than Laguta and Jonsson. The beginning of the competition was not good for him. Three points after two series of starts made his rivals catch up, but in the second part of the competition everything was back to normal. In the next four races Lebedevs scored 11 out of 12 possible points and after the 20th race he celebrated winning the title of Individual European Champion.

In the end, the Latvian finished SEC 2017 in first place, with seven points ahead of Artem Laguta and eight points more than Vaclav Milik.

SEC News
Lyager Wins Danish Qualification for TAURON SEC

On Tuesday evening, the final round of the Danish qualifiers for the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2024 and the FIM Speedway Grand Prix 2025 took place at the Vojens Speedway Center. The top five contenders secured passes to participate in the upcoming tournaments.

PGE Ekstraliga kicks off

This past weekend was marked by the first league matches in Poland. On the tracks of PGE Ekstraliga we watched five permanent riders of TAURON SEC 2024.

Busy weekend for TAURON SEC riders

The speedway season is now in full swing, with riders kicking into high gear. This past weekend was particularly eventful for the three regular participants of the TAURON SEC 2024 series.

TAURON SEC riders started the season

Last weekend was marked by the first tournaments held on Polish tracks. Both Saturday and Sunday in Częstochowa and Bydgoszcz saw competition from four of the five riders who will start in the upcoming TAURON SEC series.

The ticket sales for the round in Grudziądz have begun

On Monday, March 25th, a press conference was held in Grudziądz, announcing the start of ticket sales for the second round of TAURON SEC 2024. The competition is scheduled for July 20th.

TAURON SEC for the first time in Hungary

The European Indidvidual Speedway Championships will begin in a little less than 90 days. This year's inaugural event will take place in Debrecen. The TAURON SEC is a major event for both the city of 200,000 inhabitants and the entire sporting community in Hungary. 

TAURON SEC 2023 Round 4: Pardubice
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 3: Bydgoszcz
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 2: Güstrow
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 1: Częstochowa
SEC Girls
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP SportoweFakty