Buy ticket

Individual World Champions in the TAURON SEC

Share on:

In the 10-year history of the Speedway Euro Championship, there have been five riders who have won at least one Individual World Championship title. Who were they and how did they do in the Individual European Championship?

The best of them is Nicki Pedersen. The three-time FIM Speedway Grand Prix gold medalist took part in 27 rounds of the Speedway Euro Championship, winning four medals: gold (2016), two silvers (2013, 2015) and a bronze (2014). In the all-time SEC points standings, he sits in third place with 269 points scored in 137 races.


The 2017 SEC silver medalist was Artem Laguta. The 2021 Individual World Champion won one round of the European Championship - the one held in Güstrow. In the championships of the Old Continent, Russian raced in 47 heats scoring 85 points.


Tomasz Gollob also competed in the struggle for the title of Individual European Champion. The 2012 SGP winner competed in 10 rounds of SEC. Three of them finished in the final race but never stood on the podium.


A permanent rider of the series in 2013 was Tai Woffinden. The 2013, 2015 and 2017 Individual World Champion took part in three rounds of the Speedway Euro Championship. The Briton rode in 16 races scoring 33 points. Woffinden is the fourth-most successful British rider by points scored in SEC history.

The series held in 2020 was unique. For the first time, and as of today, the series took place over the span of one month. Over the course of 25 days, the riders competed in five rounds, and in two of them Bartosz Zmarzlik started as a 'wild card'. The four-time Individual World Champion took part in the tournaments held in Toruń and Rybnik. During the first round he was close to advancing to the final, while in Silesia he took third place. 

SEC News
Lyager Wins Danish Qualification for TAURON SEC

On Tuesday evening, the final round of the Danish qualifiers for the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2024 and the FIM Speedway Grand Prix 2025 took place at the Vojens Speedway Center. The top five contenders secured passes to participate in the upcoming tournaments.

PGE Ekstraliga kicks off

This past weekend was marked by the first league matches in Poland. On the tracks of PGE Ekstraliga we watched five permanent riders of TAURON SEC 2024.

Busy weekend for TAURON SEC riders

The speedway season is now in full swing, with riders kicking into high gear. This past weekend was particularly eventful for the three regular participants of the TAURON SEC 2024 series.

TAURON SEC riders started the season

Last weekend was marked by the first tournaments held on Polish tracks. Both Saturday and Sunday in Częstochowa and Bydgoszcz saw competition from four of the five riders who will start in the upcoming TAURON SEC series.

The ticket sales for the round in Grudziądz have begun

On Monday, March 25th, a press conference was held in Grudziądz, announcing the start of ticket sales for the second round of TAURON SEC 2024. The competition is scheduled for July 20th.

TAURON SEC for the first time in Hungary

The European Indidvidual Speedway Championships will begin in a little less than 90 days. This year's inaugural event will take place in Debrecen. The TAURON SEC is a major event for both the city of 200,000 inhabitants and the entire sporting community in Hungary. 

TAURON SEC 2023 Round 4: Pardubice
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 3: Bydgoszcz
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 2: Güstrow
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 1: Częstochowa
SEC Girls
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP SportoweFakty