Buy ticket

Lyager Wins Danish Qualification for TAURON SEC

Share on:

On Tuesday evening, the final round of the Danish qualifiers for the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2024 and the FIM Speedway Grand Prix 2025 took place at the Vojens Speedway Center. The top five contenders secured passes to participate in the upcoming tournaments.

The winner was Andreas Lyager, a regular participant in TAURON SEC 2023, who scored 13 points in five starts. Rasmus Jensen and Anders Thomsen each scored one point less, leading to a tie that was resolved by an extra race, won by Thomsen. Both riders have prior experience in the finals of the Individual European Championships. Jensen competed in TAURON SEC 2022, finishing sixth overall, while Thomsen vied for European Championship medals in 2016 and 2019.

The final two spots in the TAURON SEC 2024 qualifiers were claimed by Benjamin Basso and Frederik Jakobsen. Basso, the Danish Junior Individual Champion from two years ago, continues to be a rising star in Danish speedway, competing regularly in Danish, Polish, and British leagues with consistent improvement. Jakobsen brings experience from the PGE Ekstraliga and previous TAURON SEC events. In 2019, he competed in the series' third round in Vojens, earning seven points across five races.

Results (by DMU):

1. Andreas Lyager - 13 (3,2,3,3,2)
2. Anders Thomsen - 12 (3,3,1,2,3)
3. Rasmus Jensen - 12 (2,3,3,3,1)
4. Benjamin Basso - 10 (3,3,3,1,0)
5. Frederik Jakobsen - 9 (3,3,ex,0,3)
6. Kevin Juhl Pedersen - 9 (1,0,2,3,3)
7. Jonas Seifert-Salk - 9 (2,2,2,2,1)
8. Peter Kildemand - 8 (0,0,2,3,3)
9. Michael Jepsen Jensen - 7 (2,2,1,0,2)
10. Matias Nielsen - 6 (0,1,3,2,0)
11. Mads Hansen - 6 (1,2,2,1,0)
12. Bastian Borke - 5 (2,1,1,0,1)
13. Bastian Pedersen - 5 (1,0,1,1,2)
14. Tim Soerensen - 5 (1,1,0,2,1)
15. Nicolai Klindt - 4 (0,1,0,1,2)
16. Sam Jensen - 0 (0,0,0,0,0)
17. Jesper Knudsen - 0 (F)
18. Niels Kristian Iversen - 0 (F)

SEC News
'Wild cards' for TAURON SEC 2024

 We have met the five riders who have received permanent 'wild cards' to compete in the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2024.

Michelsen with a first SGP win

Three-time Individual European Champion Mikkel Michelsen won Saturday's round of the FIM Speedway Grand Prix, held in Landshut. For the Dane, it was his first victory in the Individual World Championship series.

Janowski won the SEC Challenge

The SEC Challenge ended with Maciej Janowski's triumph. Alongside the Pole, Piotr Pawlicki, Vaclav Milik, Kacper Woryna, and Jevgenijs Kostigovs secured advancement to TAURON SEC 2024.

It's time for the SEC Challenge!

Only hours separate us from the final decisions in the qualifying rounds for the TAURON Speedway Euro Championship 2024. Who will secure promotion to this year's Individual European Championships? We will find out the answer to this question on Sunday afternoon.

SEC Challenge - ones to watch

The SEC Challenge will take place on the track in Daugavpils this upcoming Sunday. On Latvian soil, many experienced riders, who have achieved significant success on the international stage, will battle for participation in the TAURON SEC 2024. Who should you keep an eye on?

Who did best in SEC Challenge?

Every year, the SEC Challenge tournament delivers a thrilling dose of speedway excitement. Riders will battle it out in the final qualification round for the Individual European Championship for the 11th time, with Daugavpils hosting the event for the first time.

TAURON SEC 2023 Round 4: Pardubice
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 3: Bydgoszcz
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 2: Güstrow
TAURON SEC 2023 Round 1: Częstochowa
SEC Girls
social media


OneSport FIM Europe

Host Cities and Regions

Official Broadcaster





Media partners

WP SportoweFakty